Khoisania

An issue with students this year was lack of a sandbox in solipCISM and lack of space to exhibit large builds.  I suggested students might used a standalone OpenSim server–and several did so on their laptops–but I’d not had the time to tutor them through the process.

This weekend I decided to install my own server, and to document the installation as a tutorial on Vorticism.  I’ve made a start on the tutorial but–hey–there are only so many hours in a day, and I have a real life to think about as well.  I did however find the time to make a couple of video tutorials on configuring the grid list in the Meerkat viewer and on importing objects into OpenSim.

I downloaded the OpenSim server; installation and configuration were, with the aid of the documentation on the OpenSimulator.org web site, blissfully straightforward.  Within a very short time I had my own region, unimaginatively named ‘Khoisania’, running in standalone mode.  Only by connecting the region to a grid (or setting up my own grid), however, would it be accessible to the world outside of my workstation, so I checked the grid list on the OpenSim site, signed up for accounts on a half-dozen grids, took a look around each of them, and finally opted for MyOpenGrid.  The grid is small, the administrator extremely helpful, the residents delightful, and the objects free.

khoisania03

Khoisan in Khoisania

Khoisan and friends on Khoisania

About Christopher Hutchison

Museologist, cognitive dissident, political grouch, curmudgeonly bibliophage, and all round jolly nice chap.
This entry was posted in OpenSim. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

