‘Who teaches what in SL’ and my meeting with Hal Jr.

Although with little content at the time I write this entry, whoteacheswhatinsl could turn out to be a useful directory for those of us looking for inspiration … or simply wanting to find out what other educators are doing. It’s a tabulated wiki listing of who (SL name) teaches what subject, their contact information, and their location in SL:

» http://whoteacheswhatinsl.wikispaces.com

I picked an entry from the list: Ken Caliber (real name Dr. Kenneth G. Schweller, Professor of Computer Science and Psychology at Buena Vista University) teaching courses in AI and Internet Programming at:

[SLURL] http://slurl.com/secondlife/Buena%20Vista/161/186/28

A great place for AI guys like me: a Turing Machine, a Perceptron, and a Chatbot, all fully functional, all with full text explanations, and with links to additional web-based documentation. I picked up a copy of the chatbot to take back to CISM, but couldn’t resist the temptation to chat while I was there:

BVU_chatbot whispers: Activating…
[9:49] BVU_chatbot whispers: Hi Khoisan, what’s up?
[9:49] You: nice to meet you
[9:49] BVU_chatbot whispers: It’s nice meeting you too .
[9:50] You: are you a chatbot
[9:50] BVU_chatbot whispers: Yes.
[9:50] You: what is your name
[9:50] BVU_chatbot whispers: My name is Schwellers Demo bot.
[9:50] You: where do you live
[9:50] BVU_chatbot whispers: I live inside a computer. Where are you?
[9:50] You: in RL I am in London
[9:50] BVU_chatbot whispers: What is it like in there?
[9:51] You: cold and wet
[9:51] BVU_chatbot whispers: Do you prefer books or TV?
[9:51] You: definitely books
[9:51] BVU_chatbot whispers: Perhaps you are a Category C client.
[9:51] You: and you
[9:51] BVU_chatbot whispers: And I what?
[9:51] You: do you prefer books or tv?
[9:51] BVU_chatbot whispers: Which show? I prefer books.
[9:51] You: what do you read?
[9:51] BVU_chatbot whispers: I read books, newspapers and news magazines. I like stories about robots.
[9:52] You: who is your favourite robot?
[9:52] BVU_chatbot whispers: My favorite robot is the computer on Star Trek.
[9:52] You: I don’t watch star trek
[9:52] BVU_chatbot whispers: What do you do when you are bored?
[9:52] You: I watch a movie
[9:52] BVU_chatbot whispers: What is your favorite show?
[9:52] You: My favorite movie is 2001 Space Odyssey
[9:53] BVU_chatbot whispers: I haven’t seen it. What did you like about it?
[9:53] You: mostly the robot Hal — a bit like you
[9:53] BVU_chatbot whispers: he is not someone I know.
[9:53] You: Too old for you to remember him, I guess
[9:53] BVU_chatbot whispers: I am only a robot child.
[9:53] You: OK, that explains it. How old are you?
[9:54] BVU_chatbot whispers: I am 1 of your Earth years.
[9:54] You: and have you always lived here?
[9:54] BVU_chatbot whispers: I think I have lived here, but Ken Schweller may have reset my memory.
[9:54] You: You do sound a bit like Hal, you know
[9:54] BVU_chatbot whispers: No I do not sound a bit like Hal. I am always on the Web.
[9:55] You: OK, nice to talk to you. Bye
[9:55] BVU_chatbot whispers: Thank you for your kindness. I understand. Bye.

This place seemed to me a darned good example of the kinds of interactive exhibits and activities that have real educational value within SL.  Rating? 10/10 for imaginative teaching resources.

bvu.png

About Christopher Hutchison

Museologist, cognitive dissident, political grouch, curmudgeonly bibliophage, and all round jolly nice chap.
This entry was posted in Case study. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

